Day 23: Facebook Friends

I was in the car today with a friend and the topic of social media and Christianity came up. We noticed a trend of the “Facebook Friend” relationship with Jesus. One moment an individual is putting verses up on Facebook the next minute they are deliberately playing two girls in two different relationships.

There’s this facade at times that on social media sites people are all about the things of God but in reality they are cynical, self centered, and just plain mean. Well, it made me think of what and how I’ve posted in the past. In my own life, I’ve tried to save face and never put anything up negative or real. Until recently, this has been an avenue of healing for me.

I have made plenty of mistakes in relationships. I’ve gone after the projects and the personality flips. However, they’ve all ended the same. In the past, I was able to help them to a certain degree and then I realized how it brought me down in many different respects. I’ve learned so much about myself lately through the church, people, and my counselor. I’ve learned many different aspects of my relational side. For now, I’m content and satisfied. I am more in love with God than I ever have been. Realizing the wrong people I’ve strived and pursued after were wrong for more than several reasons for me. God can never be wrong for me. He’s the only right one for me.

Alyssa Nicole.

Leave a comment